Home CBSE Syllabus Philosophy Class XI Syllabus

Philosophy Class XI Syllabus


Exam Structure

Unit Topic  Marks 
Indian Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology) 20 
Western Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology) 20 
Principles of Reasoning (Logic) 60 
  Total 100

Unit 1: Indian Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology)

  • (i) Classification of Indian philosophical systems
  • (ii) Six ways of knowing in Indian Philosophy
  • (iii) Nyaya definition of perception and distinction between determinate and indeterminate perception
  • (iv) Buddhist view on indeterminate perception
  • (v) Nyaya view on inference (Nyaya): Vyapti, tarka, and kinds of Anumana
  • (vi) Carvaka’s critique of inference

Unit 2: Western Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology)

  • (vii) Rationalism: Descartes on universal and certain knowledge, Method of doubt
  • (viii) Empiricism: Locke on rejection of innate ideas, origin of ideas,kinds of knowledge
  • (ix) Hume – Impressions and Ideas, Kinds of knowledge, skepticism (causation, self)
  • (x) Kant: Synthetic a priori knowledge

Unit 3: Principles of Reasoning (Logic)

(A) Aristotelian Logic

  • (xi) The nature and subject-matter of logic
  • (xii) Terms, sentences, propositions, truth and validity
  • (xiii) Relations between propositions – square of opposition
  • (xiv) Changing sentences into their logical form
  • (xv) Categorical syllogism

(B) Symbolic Logic

  • (xvi) Value of use of symbols, symbolization, variable and constant
  • (xvii) Truth function and truth-functional connectives, Truth Table

(C) Inductive Reasoning

  • (xviii) Mill’s Methods of Experimental Inquiry
Previous articleMathematics Class XI Syllabus
Next articlePhysical Education Class XI Syllabus


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here