Home assam education অসম অভিযান্ত্ৰিক মহাবিদ্যালয় – Assam Engineering College

অসম অভিযান্ত্ৰিক মহাবিদ্যালয় – Assam Engineering College



Assam Engineering College

Assam Engineering College (Assamese: অসম অভিযান্ত্ৰিক মহাবিদ্যালয়) established in 1955 is located in Guwahati. It is the first undergraduate engineering college in northeastern India and today is a premier technical institute of eastern India. AEC has been the hub of many academic and supplementary activities in Assam. It is a public college run by state of Assam. While majority of students are from the state of Assam, there are fixed quotas for students from neighboring states. The college is approved by the All India Council for Technical Education AICTE. The college offers Bachelor courses (BE) in the fields of Electrical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Industrial and Production Engineering, Instrumentation Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. It also offers Masters courses on Computer Application (MCA), Electrical Engineering (ME), Civil Engineering (ME), Mechanical Engineering (ME). It offers Ph.D. facility in Soil Mechanics and Hydraulics. All the courses are affiliated to Gauhati University, the education hub of the North East region.Motto Service Before Self,Established 1955,Type Technical institute,Principal Dr. Atul Bora,Undergraduates 1650,Postgraduates 100,Location Guwahati, Assam, India India,Campus Urban,Acronym AEC
Colors Red (Power), Blue (Peace), Yellow (Perseverance), Green (Life)

Assam Engineering College houses the following departments:

Civil Engineering
Chemical Engineering
Computer Science & Engineering
Electrical and Instrumentation Engineering
Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering
Humanities and Social Sciences
Mechanical and Industrial & Production Engineering
Master of Computer Applications
Department of Civil Engineering

The department of Civil Engineering, established in 1956, was the first branch introduced in this college.

The annual intake capacity is 90 students per semester in B.E. degree course and 25 students in the M.E. degree course. This department also offers a Ph.D. degree in Soil Mechanics and Hydraulics. However, it has a variable intake. The student to teacher ratio for each semester is 3:1. The head of the department is Dr. Palash Jyoti Hazarika.

Department of Chemical Engineering

AEC Administrative Building from a Distance
The Chemical Engineering Department was started in 1963 and had an annual intake capacity of 66 students in B.E. degree. The laboratories of this department are for research work in chemical engineering leading to a Ph.D. degree.

The department has been providing a four-year undergraduate course for Chemical Engineering. The core subjects includes Process Calculation, Chemical Technology, Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, Mass Transfer Operations, Heat Transfer Operations, Chemical Reaction Engineering, Process Dynamics & Control, Petroleum Refinery Engineering & Petrochemicals, Process Equipment Design & Drawing, Fluid Flow Operation, Transport Phenomenon, Process Utilities, Process Instrumentation.

Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Computer Science and Engineering was established on August 25, 1998; it’s the newest of the lot. Presently, the department is attached to the Electronics & Telecommunications Department.

The course available is Bachelor of Engineering. The duration of the B.E. is four years having eight semesters. The head of the department is Apurba Kumar Kalita.

The current Student Intake is 20 .

Department of Electrical Engineering

The Electrical Engineering branch established its roots in Assam Engineering College in 1957, as the second functioning branch.

The branch offers Bachelor of Engineering (B.E.) degree and has an annual intake of 90 students. The department has a student-to-teacher ratio of 5:1.

The curriculum of the department is mainly oriented to cater for the needs of all types of industries, such as power, IT, heavy and light electrical machineries etc. The department also offers a postgraduate program on power system. The department also has research facilities. The head of the department Dr. Damodar Agarwal.

Department of Mechanical Engineering

The department of Mechanical Engineering, established in 1957, was one of the first departments of the college. It offers B.E. courses of four years with an annual intake of 60 students and a student-to-teacher ratio of 5:2. The head of the department is Dr. R.K. Dutta.

Department of Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering
Established in 1984, it is the only department providing Bachelor of Engineering (B.E.) degree in Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering under the state government. It has an annual intake of 60 students. The department offers syllabus covering the major thrust areas in the field of electronics and telecommunication. The head of the department is Prof. Apurba Kumar Kalita.

The Electronics & Telecommunication Dept. emphasizes on practical in both software and hardware sections with laboratory facilities. Some of the laboratories are – Circuit & Device Lab, Digital Electronics Lab, Analog Communication Lab, Digital Communication Lab, Advanced Communication Lab, Microprocessor Lab, Microwave Engineering Lab, Computer Lab, Image Processing Lab

Department of Industrial and Production Engineering
The branch of Industrial and Production Engineering was introduced in 1998 due to a high demand for production engineers in oil sectors, companies, etc. The branch was recognised to AICTE in 2001. Head of the department is Dr. R.K. Dutta.

Department of Instrumentation Engineering
The branch of Instrumentation Engineering was introduced in 1998 due to the high demand for instrumentation engineers in industries, companies, etc. The branch was recognised to AICTE in 2001.

In AEC, there is an intake of 20 instrumentation engineering students every year. Head of the department is Dr. Damodar Agarwal.

Department of Master of Computer Applications
The department of Master of Computer Applications, established in 1990, offers M.C.A. courses of three years duration with an annual intake of 30 students and a student to teacher ratio of 3:1.

Well-equipped three laboratories with Pentium, AMD workstations, servers running under WindowsNT, Linux, UNIX providing the environment to work on C, C++, C#, VB, Java, ASP.NET, Oracle, Shell programming with high speed Internet connectivity. The department is headed by Prof. Bichitra Kalita.

Organizations on-campus includes.

Robotics Club.
ISTE Student Chapter.
IES student Chapter.
Entrepreneurship Development Cell, AEC. (EDC, AEC)
Energy Club.
Bi-cycle Club.
AEC Q-Factor Quiz Club.
AEC Photography Club.
AEC Literary Club.


For more details Please! Click Here

Best Wishes From www.scientiaeducare.com

Helping you choose a successful career….

Previous articleযোৰহাট অভিযান্ত্ৰিক মহাবিদ্যালয়
Next articleAssam Administrative Staff College