Home assam education Centre of Plasma Physics – Institute for Plasma Research

Centre of Plasma Physics – Institute for Plasma Research


Centre of Plasma Physics – Institute for Plasma Research (CPP-IPR

Centre of Plasma Physics (now renamed as Centre of Plasma Physics –Institute For Plasma Research) is one of the leading research organizations in North East of India. It was established in 1991 under Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of Assam, as an autonomous research institute to the objectives pursue basic research in theoretical as well as experimental plasma physics and its related areas. The Centre started functioning since April 1991 in a rented house located at Saptaswahid Path, Dispur, Guwahati. Since its inception, it was headed by Director and was managed by a Governing Council. The Governing Council of the Centre consisted of four eminent scientists of the country with representatives from Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, Bhabha Atomic Research Center, Bombay and Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Calcutta; top level State Government officers and some local members. The first Chairman of the Governing Council was Professor Predhiman Krishan Kaw (currently the director of Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar), a world renowned Plasma Physicist who took keen interest for the all-round development of the Centre. After the expiry of its 3 years’ term, the Governing Council of the Centre was reconstituted by the Education Department with Prof. A.C. Das, Dean of Physical Research Laboratory as its chairman. The founder Director of the Centre, Prof. Sarbeswar Bujarbaruah, is a distinguished plasma scientist of the country and recipient of `Vikram Sarabhai Research Award’ in 1989 and Kamal Kumari National Award in 1993.

Address: Nazirakhat, Lomati Gaon, Assam 782402
Phone: 0361 222 0010 ext. 2313116

Previous articleCentral Inland Fisheries Research Centre (ICAR)
Next articleIndian Statistical Institute


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here